500+ Households in Cagayan de Oro 1st District to benefit from P23.6 million Sitio Electrification Program

500+ Households in Cagayan de Oro 1st District to benefit from P23.6 million Sitio Electrification Program Featured

Cong. Rufus Rodriguez, with Vice Mayor Bebot Rodriguez, led the series of groundbreaking ceremonies for the Sitio Electrification Program of the National Electrification Administration (NEA) and MORESCO 1 in six hinterland barangays in the 1st District of Cagayan de Oro City.

The Sitio Electrification Program is a priority program of the government aimed at providing electricity to far-flung and underserved sitios in the country. This program will install electric posts in the sitios, with power lines that will link directly to individual households. It will also provide households with light bulbs to complete the electrification.

Recognizing that electricity is a basic human right, Cong. Rufus Rodriguez secured from NEA Administrator Antonio Mariano ‘Nani’ Almeda, a close family friend, the funds needed for electrification of sitios in Cagayan de Oro City, particularly in barangays in the first district.

Cong. Rufus was able to secure a total of P23,692,116.31 for 518 households under the FY 2022 and FY 2023 budget.

The first set of groundbreaking ceremonies took place in Barangays Dansolihon, Mambuaya, and Tagpangi.

In Barangay Dansolihon, P1.5 million is allocated for the electrification of 70 households in Purok 3B and Purok 3C. There are 59 beneficiaries of P1.7 million worth of electrification from Zone 1B and Zone 3A in Barangay Mambuaya.

Meanwhile, 125 households in Barangay Tagpangi, from Zone 2A, Upper Maragat, Sitio Tinipigan, and Sitio Butay, will finally be connected to electric lines. The electrification project in Barangay Tagpangi costs P10.3 million.

In sum, the first batch of barangays under the Sitio Electrification Program had a budget of P13.5 million.

Cong. Rufus Rodriguez extended his heartfelt gratitude to NEA Administrator Nani Almeda, for heeding his request and prioritizing CdeO in this electrification program. Moreover, Cong. Rufus thanks the officials from MORESCO 1, the implementing company for this program, Board of Directors President Dir. Nonito Labis, General Manager Jovel Ubay-Ubay, Dir. Bryan Noble, and Engineering Services Department Manager Engr. Collen Tarcelo.

Cong. Rufus likewise thanks City Councilor Bernie ‘Bitokbitok’ Esparcia, and now Punong Barangay of Dansolihon, Kap. Ogie Roa, and Mambuaya, Kap. Philip Porras, for taking part in the groundbreaking ceremony.


Read 522 times
Rate this item
(0 votes)